Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards


The Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards competition is the regional Scholastic event for our area.

The University of Minnesota is pleased to host the 2018 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards (MSAA) Co-sponsored by the Art Educators of Minnesota.


Visit the exhibition January 30 - February 17, 2018

The exhibition will be held at the U of M's Regis Art Center (West)

Award notifications will be sent by January 10, 2018. The 2018 MSAA Award recipients will be posted on this website in early February.

Drop-off of Gold Key Award winning works:

Saturday, January 20th: 10 AM - 3 PM

Sunday, January 21st: 10 AM - 3 PM


The Weisman Art Museum is pleased to host the 2018 MSAA Awards Ceremonies on February 17, 2018



10:00am – 11:00am

St Michael-Albertville High School

St Anthony Middle School

Perpich Center-Arts Education

Robbinsdale Armstrong High School

Robbinsdale Cooper High School


11:30am – 12:30pm

Chippewa Middle School

Falcon Ridge Middle School

Heilicher Minneapolis Jewish Day School

St Paul Academy & Summit School

Alexandria Area High School

Bemidji High School

Benilde-St Margaret's School

Blake School-Northrop Campus

Buffalo High School

Denfeld Senior High School

Eastview High School

Edina Senior High School

Fourth Baptist Christian School

Fridley High School

Great River Montessori School

Hawley High School

Hopkins High School

Irondale Senior High School

Mounds Park Academy

Mounds View High School

Park Center Senior High School

Visitation School

Wabasha Kellogg Secondary School

Woodbury High School


1:00 – 2:00

Anoka Middle School for The Arts

Anoka Senior High School

Mound Westonka High School

Rogers High School

Roseville Area High School

Wayzata High School


2:30 – 3:30

Central Middle School

Oak View Middle School

Pequot Lakes School

Pine Island Middle School

St Croix Preparatory Academy

West Junior High School

Breck School

Chanhassen High School

Cretin-Derham Hall

Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton High School

Elk River Area Senior High School

Holy Family High School

Lakeville North High School

Maccray High School

Mankato East High School

Maple Grove Senior High School

Moorhead High School

Nevis School

New Prague High School

Northfield High School

Orono High School

Shattuck-St Mary's School

South High School

St Croix Lutheran School


4:00 – 5:00

Roosevelt Middle School

Sunrise Park Middle School

Valley View Middle School

Andover High School

Blaine High School

Champlin Park High School

Chaska High School

Columbia Heights High School

Coon Rapids High School

Jefferson High School

Kennedy High School

Minnetonka High School

North High School

Osseo Senior High School

Prior Lake High School

Providence Academy

Southwest Christian High School

Southwest High School

Stillwater Area Senior High School

Underwood High School

Upside Right Studio Home School

White Bear Lake High School North

White Bear Lake High School South


Pick up of Gold Key winning works:

Saturday, February 17th: 3:30 PM - 6 PM

Monday February 19 from 3:00-6:00pm


Click Here for the link to the 2018 Gold Key Award Winners

Click Here for the link to the 2018 Silver Key Award Winners

Click Here for the link to the 2018 Honorable Mention Award Winners 


Links to images coming soon!




The Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards (MSAA) exhibition and awards ceremonies are made possible through the generous support of our sponsors, contributors and Art Educators of Minnesota (AEM). To learn more about how you can contribute to AEM, please visit www.aem-mn.org/donate.



The presentation of the MSAA exhibitions and awards ceremonies at the Regis Center for Art and the Weisman Art Museum demonstrates the high level of achievement by art students across the state of Minnesota, and the exceptional academic resources at the University of Minnesota for the study, practice and presentation of the visual arts.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the longest running, most prestigious competition and largest source of scholarships for creative teenagers in the United States. The Awards program was created in 1923 by Maurice R. "Robbie" Robinson, founder of Scholastic Corporation, and has been administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers since 1994. It has an impressive legacy and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, and Joyce Carol Oates and many others.

Established to ensure that literary and artistic talent were recognized in schools and communities across the country, the program began as a small writing contest; today, it offers recognition in 27 diverse categories including animation, architecture, dramatic script, fashion, painting, photography, poetry, sculpture and video games. The Awards are open to all students in grades 7 through 12 from public, private and home schools throughout the U.S. (and its territories), as well as American-run schools abroad and community programs serving eligible student populations.


The Alliance for Young Artists and Writers gives out over a quarter of a million dollars in scholarships to top award-winning creative teens to help fund their continued education. Each year, 15 Portfolio Gold Medalists receive $10,000 awards, representing the highest level of achievement for graduating seniors. In addition, national award-winning seniors are eligible for scholarships from a network of 60-plus arts institutes, universities, colleges, and summer programs, which annually earmark well over $5 million in financial aid and scholarships for Scholastic Award winners.


The Scholastic Art Awards are also recognized by the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design, a consortium of leading art and design colleges in the United States, as an effective way for artistic students to develop successful portfolios for college admission.

The Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards program is organized and administered by the Art Educators of Minnesota. Art Educators of Minnesota is a non-profit 501(c)(3) professional organization dedicated to supporting the professional interests and concerns of visual and media arts educators at all levels. Art Educators of Minnesota supports advocacy for quality arts education for all learners, supports visual art student events that recognize artistic expression and quality, encourages professional growth and collaboration by providing networking opportunities to share ideas and information, informs its members about current trends and issues, fosters leadership, and acknowledges professional excellence in visual and media arts education.


Sponsored by the University of MN Department of Art, the Katherine E. Nash Gallery, and the Weisman Art Museum at the University of Minnesota, the Art Educators of Minnesota (AEM), and Triarco.